Mar 21, 2018  
2016-2017 Capital Seminary and Graduate School Catalog 
2016-2017 Capital Seminary and Graduate School Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Reading Specialist Certification

Curricular Structure

For prospective students holding an Instructional I certificate, or its equivalent, certification as a Reading Specialist (K-12) can be arranged for a student without the student needing to enroll in the MEd degree program. In order to gain the certification as a Reading Specialist, the student must complete a non-credit Orientation Seminar and 30 credits that comprise 12 credits from the professional core, 9 credits from the Reading Specialist electives, and 9 credits of open electives. A passing score on the Praxis exam for Reading Specialist is also required. The curriculum is designed as follows:

Orientation Seminar   0 Credit
Professional Core 12 Credits
Reading Specialist Electives   9 Credits
Open Electives   9 Credits
Program Total 30 Credits

Site Offered

Lancaster, PA